Cheeri-NO!!

Kids crave Honey Nut Cheerios @generalmills!! But, unfortunately, celiac kid tummies may not. If you’re a new celiac mom you may not know this, but in recent years, the famous (and awfully cute) honeybee has been taken to court over false advertisement: General Mills claims their Cheerios are gluten free (*It even says so right on the box!), but with their oat fields located so closely to their wheat fields, and a little factor called wind, is every box always 100% gf guaranteed? In 2015, the well known cereal company had to recall 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios. The recall has long past, but the FDA is still receiving complaints from people with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance or gluten allergy that they have experienced sickness after consuming this product. My son’s dietician advised against eating Cheerios as recent as June 2017. When it comes to General Mills, Cheerios, and Celiac Disease, it’s best to say “Cheeri-NO!!”

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment